The Kozhikode district came into existence on 1st January 1957. The Kozhikode district now consists of one revenue division, four taluks, twelve blocks, 78 Panchayats and 118 villages.

Revenue division Kozhikode
Taluks Four (Vadakara, Koyilandy, Thamarassery and Kozhikode)
Blocks Twelve (Kunnummal, Balussery, Tuneri, Perambra, Kunnamangalam, Thodannur, Koduvally, Meladi, Vadakara, Panthalayani, Chelannur and Kozhikode)
Panchayats Seventy eight
Backward Class Development Corporation 2380766
Calicut Press Club 2721860
Friends - Jana Sevana Kendra 2724550
Akshaya Project,Kozhikode 2349014,9847366289(Mobile)
NORKA,Kozhikode 2304885

Rural development:

There are 12 Community Development Blocks in the District. They are Balussery, Chelannur, Kozhikode, Kunnamangalam, Kunnummal, Melady, Panthalayani, Koduvally, Perambra, Thodannur, Tuneri and Vadakara. The first Community Development Block in the district was formed in Kunnummal in October 1956. Of the 12 blocks, Koduvally is the largest followed by Kunnamangalam. Vadakara is the smallest block in area.

Local Bodies:

Of the five Municipal Corporations in the State, one is the Kozhikode Municipal Corporation. Vadakara and Koyilandy are the two municipalities in the district.

The Kozhikode Corporation has geographical area of 82.67 sq.kms. For purposes of revenue collection, etc., the Corporation has been divided into 39 survey wards. But for purposes of election, it has been divided into 50 electoral divisions on the basis of population, each division being represented by one member.

The Kozhikode Development Authority was formed on May 15, 1980, with the aim of planned development. The authority covers Kozhikode Municipal Corporation and suburban panchayats, namely, Elathur, Kakkodi, Kuruvatoor, Kunnamamgalam. Peruvayal, Olavanna, Parumanna, Cheruvannur, Nallalam, Beypore, Feroke, Kadalundy and Ramanattukara. A master plan has been prepared for the development of Kozhikode urban area.

Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies:

Kozhikode district comprises of seven parliamentary constituencies and 17 assembly constituencies. Balussery, Elathur, Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore, Kunnamangalam and Koduvally are the two parliamentary constituencies. The following are the assembly constituencies; Vadakara, Calicut 1, Calicut - 2, Elathur, Kuttiady, Vadakkekara, Nadapuram, Meppayur, Koyilandy, Perambra, balussery, Koduvally, Kozhikode - North, Kozhikode - South, Beypore, Kunnamangalam (SC) and Thiruvambadi.

New Apartment in Thrissur

2 & 3 BHK Apartments in Thrissur with Luxury Amenities